So it’s been a while since I last posted. It’s not that writing this blog is not important, but I had some more important things to deal with, like giving birth to a healthy baby boy (who still remains unnamed, so any suggestions are welcome!) and adjusting to life as a mom of a newborn with two other kids. Baby decided to come a little earlier than expected, and so this blog post has actually been patiently waiting for me to edit and publish it for a couple weeks now. In my last post I alluded to the fact that “a change is gonna come” to this blog with all the other major changes that are happening in my life. Anyways, here’s the post detailing what that change will be.



I hate good-byes. There is a finality to good-byes that I have a hard time with. Whether it was breaking up with a boyfriend or saying good-bye to a friend or leaving a job, it’s always been hard for me to quickly embrace the ending of different parts of my life.

I remember one of our friends’ kids hated saying good-bye so much that even after playing with him for hours, he would completely ignore us and just keep playing video games when we had to leave. I initially thought he was being rude, and then realized it was just too sad for him to have to say good-bye. I totally get it. I’d rather pretend than have to face the reality that something that was really good is now ending.

But saying good-bye is a necessary and important part of life, just as change is. And usually, good-byes need to happen to say hello to new opportunities, new experiences, new people. And so it is with this blog. I was first persuaded to start this blog as a way to share resources with other parents and married couples at our church and it’s evolved into a window into my own personal life and experiences as a mom and wife and wisdom from our occasional guest posters. I have been so thankful for this last year of being able to practice the discipline of the written word and to have a space where I can process my thoughts more slowly and carefully. And it’s been wonderful to be able to have a platform for others in our community to share their wisdom and to be able to learn from each other’s experiences.

But as you’ve probably guessed by now, this is my way of saying farewell… at least for now. My stubborn, change-laggard side of me feels like I can still continue to write weekly posts, but my heart tells me that this will become more of an obligation or burden and my writing will reflect that. And I’d rather finish well than drag this out just because I’m afraid of letting it go. I trust that nothing is wasted in God’s Kingdom and that some of you have been blessed or encouraged by this blog. I am hopeful that this blog can be a prototype for other leaders in our church to share their thoughts and the things that God has been putting on their hearts in the future. But for now, I know it’s time to say good-bye and let God do what He will.

Before I sign off, I want to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedules to read my ramblings every week. I am humbled and amazed that people would actually read what I’ve written. It’s been an honour to have you be a part of this space that has become so special to me and I do hope that one day we will be able to meet in this way again. Until then, my prayer is that we will all continue to learn and grow as parents, as spouses, and as friends, in whatever community God has placed us in. God bless you and thank you again for all your support.